Thursday, September 22, 2016

Documents Needed For Louisiana Marriage License

 Below is information from the State of Louisiana to get a marriage license. Be sure to read this and have all the necessary documents as the law has changed and they made it more difficult. You can contact the Jefferson Parish Clerk of Court as they have a phone and email contact on their web page and are very helpful. Some states like Texas allow you to bring a marriage license with you if you get it early enough. Check with your state for its rules

 Link: Clerk of Court Contact information

Quote from Texas state web page:

Can I use my Texas marriage license to get married in another state?
A marriage license issued in the State of Texas can be used for ceremonies in other States. Please contact your out-of-state officiate before applying for a State of Texas marriage license. Please keep in mind your license will only be recorded in the County and State in which you applied


The Orleans Parish Marriage License Office is located at Benson Tower, 1450 Poydras Street, Suite 407, in downtown New Orleans. Licenses are issued between 8:15 a.m. and 3:15 p.m., Monday through Friday (excluding state holidays). The licenses are valid in any parish in the State of Louisiana.
Orleans Parish Marriage Licenses may also be purchased at the Second City Court of New Orleans in the Historic Algiers Courthouse at 225 Morgan Street in Algiers. Licenses are issued between 9:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. Monday through Friday (excluding state holidays).
In order to apply for a marriage license, both parties must be present and present all required documents. If a party is absent, the application will only be accepted if their signature on the application has been separately notarized. If the absent party is a member of the US armed forces, a copy of a military ID can be accepted in lieu of a signature, but at least one party’s in-person signature is required to submit an application.
Applicants must present the following:
1. A current driver's license, current state ID or passport.
2. A certified birth certificate or a certified birth card for both parties (no photocopies accepted). A certified translation must be attached, if the birth certificate is not in English. If not born in the US or a US territory, the applicant(s) must also present a valid, unexpired passport or a valid, unexpired visa with attached I-94 form.
3. Both applicants must provide their Social Security numbers if born in the United States. If not born in the US or a US territory, the applicant(s) must present a valid passport from their country of birth or a visa with attached I-94 form.
4. If either party has been divorced, the individual must provide a certified copy of the final divorce decree. A widow or widower must provide a certified copy the death certificate of the former spouse when they apply for a license to marry.
5. Fees of $27.50 payable by cash, check, or money order only (non-refundable), plus $5 for each certified copy of the marriage certificate desired by the customer. CREDIT/DEBIT CARDS ARE NOT ACCEPTED FOR PAYMENT.
An Application to Obtain an Orleans Parish Marriage License is available and may be completed by the parties prior to applying in person.
72-Hour Waiting Period
A 72-hour waiting period is required by law between the time of issuance of the license and the ceremony.
Judges of the First or Second City Courts are authorized by law to waive the waiting period for Louisiana residents and they can do this during their Monday-Friday hours of operation ONLY.
If both parties reside outside of Louisiana and the services will occur in Orleans parish AND be performed by a registered Orleans officiant, that officiant can waive this waiting period.
The waiver must be attached to the completed marriage certificate when it is returned to Vital Records.
Marriage under the age of 18
Marriage under the age of eighteen (18) is prohibited by law, except as follows: Applicants over the age of sixteen (16) but less than eighteen (18) must have the signed consent of both parents, or an order from a Judge of Juvenile Court. Females under sixteen (16) will be issued a license ONLY upon the written order of the Juvenile Court Judge.
Expiration of Marriage License
A marriage license expires and becomes invalid at midnight thirty (30) days after the date of issuance. If the service is postponed beyond the expiration date, you must return the expired license and purchase a new one. 
Certified Copies of the Marriage Certificate 
You are encouraged to purchase one or more certified copies of your Marriage Certificate when you apply for your license. Certified copies of a Marriage Certificate cost $5.00 + a $.50 mailing charge per transaction.

 Link below to state Information Page:

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

A Week Before Wedding----

 To make things go smooth and easy a week before the wedding be sure to have and do the following:

1. Get marriage license, and inform officiant that you have it and are ready to go

2. Understand the time needed for the ceremony itself, usually 30 minutes to do from music prelude to recessional. Let minister know any special requests needed in the ceremony and style of ceremony, religious or civil.

3. If you have readers be sure to let them know with copy of reading when they will be called on. And also let minister  know who, what, and when the reading is to be done.

4. Contact other people who need to know things like, location, caterer, musicians, etc. or have a planner or friend contact all parties.

 Communication is important so be sure to let people know you have the marriage license and are ready to be married. Read up on what documents you need to get a marriage license as laws change and some license offices are strict.

 If there is any problem or issue contact the minister who may have a solution.